It’s On! The 2011 Nixon WTA

This past Saturday, November 12, began the final stop of the 2011 Nixon WTA (Winner-Takes-All). Now in its fifth consecutive year, The Nixon WTA awards custom, limited edition Nixon timepieces at four stops along the ASP World Tour. The four WTA challenges include: biggest air in Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, in May, the highest heat score in Jeffreys Bay, South Africa, in July; heaviest wave at Teahupoo, Tahiti, in August; and the overall Triple Crown winner on the North Shore of Oahu in December. The WTA celebrates an achievement in the contest that may have otherwise gone forgotten.

The first stop of the Vans Triple Crown of Surfing is the Reef Hawaiian Pro, which began this past Saturday, November 12. The Vans World Cup of Surfing (November 25 – December 6) and Billabong Pipe Masters (December 8 – 20) will round out the Triple Crown events. The overall winner, based on accumulation of most points during those contests, will walk away with a Nixon WTA victory.

Earlier in the year, Nixon WTA titles and watches were awarded to Josh Kerr for “Biggest Air” in Rio de Janeiro, Jordy Smith for “Highest Heat Score” in Jefferys Bay, and Jeremy Flores for “Heaviest Wave” in Teahupoo.

The Nixon WTA and overall Triple Crown of Surfing winner will take home bragging rights and a custom one-of-a-kind black ceramic automatic Nixon 51-30 watch. This Swiss made mechanical timepiece is adorned with 50 black diamonds on the bezel, six black sapphires, 95 black diamond accents, as well as a Hawaiian flag on the dial. The one-of-a-kind watch is customized with an engraved caseback of the Nixon WTA logo, an etched Hawaiian flag complimenting the sidewall of the case, and is valued at over $10,000 USD.

Defending his claim to the Nixon WTA and overall Triple Crown title this year is three-time event winner (2008, 2009, 2010), Joel Parkinson.

We’ll keep you posted leading up to the final crowning on December 20th, but in the meantime, you can watch video of each of the Nixon WTA Triple Crown contenders at:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>